Celebrate the Migratory Bird Treaty Centennial by participating in the North American Breeding Bird Survey!!!

Each spring over 2500 skilled individuals volunteer to participate in the North American Breeding Bird Survey (BBS).  Since 1965, these volunteers have contributed to one of the most widely used bird monitoring datasets in North America.  In 2009, the Midwest Coordinated Bird Monitoring Partnership began a campaign to fill all vacant BBS routes in our region.  Each year, the number of vacant routes has decreased, so let’s see if we can set a new record for number of covered routes during 2016, the Centennial of the first Migratory Bird Treaty! 

Requirements for participation are listed below:

  • Access to suitable transportation to complete a survey.
  • Good hearing and eyesight.
  • The ability to identify all breeding birds in the area by sight and sound. Knowledge of bird songs is extremely important, because most birds counted on these surveys are singing males.
  • New BBS participants must also successfully complete the BBS Methodology Training Program before their data will be used in any BBS analyses. The training program is available from the national BBS offices and the state, provincial, and territorial coordinators. 

To that end, I ask all of you to consider adopting a vacant route near you, adding a route if you already run one, and getting the word out to your friends and neighbors.  As of April 12, we have 70 vacant routes in our region!  To see if there is a vacant route near you, check out this handy mapping tool on the BBS website: https://www.pwrc.usgs.gov/bbs/RouteMap/Map.cfm

Contact your state BBS coordinator to adopt a vacant route today:

Illinois: 16 Vacant Routes (contact Keith Pardieck; email: kpardieck@usgs.gov; phone: 301-497-5843)

Indiana: 16 Vacant Routes (contact Amy Kearns; email: akearns@dnr.in.gov phone: 812-849-4586)

Iowa: 4 Vacant Routes (contact Doug Harr; email: dharr@netins.net; phone: 515-275-4818)

Michigan: 8 Vacant Routes (contact Katie Koch; email: katie_koch@fws.gov; phone: 906-226-1249)

Minnesota: 11 Vacant Routes (contact Bob Janssen; email: rbjanssen@aol.com; phone: 612-865-3802)

Missouri: 4 Vacant Routes (contact Janet Haslerig; email: janet.haslerig@mdc.mo.gov; phone: 573-522-4115 x3198)

Ohio: 8 Vacant Routes (contact Nathan Stricker; email: Nathan.Stricker@dnr.state.oh.us; phone: 740-747-2525 ext. 22)

Wisconsin: 3 Vacant Routes (contact Mark Korducki; email: Korducki@earthlink.net; phone: 262-784-2712) 

Thank you for participating in this program and helping me get the word out.  BBS season will be here before we know it!

Katie Koch, Coordinator

Midwest Coordinated Bird Monitoring Partnership

Views: 41

Comment

You need to be a member of Midwest Coordinated Bird Monitoring Partnership to add comments!

Join Midwest Coordinated Bird Monitoring Partnership

© 2017   Created by Katie Koch.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service